Hiralal Mazumdar Memorial College for Women

Re-Accredited by NAAC with B++ Grade - 2016

Department Of Zoology

About Department


Introduction :

                          The department of  Zoology was established in the year 1999 to cater the Zoology General course under the University of Calcutta  and in the year 2004 for imparting Zoology honours course under the University of Calcutta , but  since 2010 onwards our college are running  under West Bengal State University . The first Head of the Department was  Dr. Soumendra nath Poddar  . Currently  the  department  are  running  under the  leadership of  Dr. Indrajit Biswas  . The  department has many dynamic and experienced  faculties from different background  like  Dr. S Rehan Ahmad , Dr. Anindya Sundar Bhunia ,  Miss Rituparna Maithy and Shri Santanu Das. 


The Department caters the need for the students from rural and backward area of Dakshineswar and also from allied localities; making them a very good asset for society. Being one of the active and important departments of science, it serves to inculcate social responsibilities and serve the society by not only becoming Teachers, Scientists, Zoologists but also as responsible citizens who bridge the gap between science and common man. The Department has linkages with many national and international Institutes, universities and centres of excellence in different disciplines in and outside the country. 

Vision :

The vision of the Department vision is to provide academic leadership to the subject of Zoology and undertake quality teaching at Undergraduate (UG) levels , enduring academic performance of the students empowered with entrepreneurial  and industrial skills as also enlightened with the other modern technologies .    

Mission :

The mission of the department consistent with our mission is to provide students with an unparallel learning experience in a supportive and caring milieu by being facilitators to connect knowledge with the field application and inculcate friendly leaning culture by acting as role models with excellence in academics.


Student Intake Capacity:

50  (  30 UR,   11 SC,   3 ST,    4 OBC – A,   2 OBC- B,    0 PC  ) 

Courses available :  B.Sc  Honours ( Zoology ) &  B.Sc  General  ( Zoology )